Sammlung

Dauerausstellung Mittelalter_MRMThe Middle Rhine Museum encompasses over 2000 years of art and cultural history. The collection comprises around 1200 paintings, over 8000 works of graphic art (including numerous drawings and watercolours), about 250 works of photographic art, 230 sculptures and around 1000 graphic items on the subject of “travel” and “the Middle Rhine”.

Other features include around 700 objects in stone, wood and metal, over 500 historic coins and medals as well as 345 ceramic objects. The museum also has an extensive collection of cultural and traditional artefacts made of a wide range of materials including painted glass, porcelain, furniture, craftwork, textiles, weights and measures, military objects, cast iron, lights and lamps, cast-iron stoves, metalware, brass and pewter objects, metal icons and clocks.

The main focal points of the new Middle Rhine Museum’s generously dimensioned permanent exhibition, which covers roughly 1900m2, are the collections of paintings, sculptures and craftwork. Arranged in chronological order, the exhibition halls cover a broad spectrum ranging from medieval sculpture and the paintings of the Middle Ages, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism to representatives of the Düsseldorf School, Classical Modernism and positions in contemporary art, particularly the works of K. O. Götz, Rissa and Heijo Hangen. Running parallel to these galleries is the inner circuit, where visitors can find out more about regional art and cultural history. The exhibits include 400 paintings, 50 sculptures, 60 works of graphic art and a wide variety of different craft objects.

Sammlung

Das Mittelrhein-Museum vereint über 2.000 Jahre Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte. Der Gesamtbestand setzt sich zusammen aus ca. 1.200 Gemälden, über 8.000 Grafiken (darunter zahlreiche Handzeichnungen und Aquarelle), ca. 250 künstlerischen Fotografien, 230 Skulpturen und ca. 1.000 grafischen Objekten zum Thema „Reisen“ und „Mittelrhein“. Neubau2013 021
Hinzu kommen ca. 700 Objekte aus Stein, Holz und Metall, über 500 historische Münzen und Medaillen sowie 345 Keramiken. Weiterhin ist auf den ausnehmend umfangreichen Bestand kulturhistorischer und volkskundlicher Objekte zu verweisen, der unterschiedlichste Materialgruppen umfasst: Glasmalerei, Porzellan, Möbel, Kleinkunst, Textilien, Maße und Gewichte, Militaria, Eisenguss, Leuchter und Lampen, Gusseiserne Öfen, Blechwaren, Messing- und Zinnobjekte, Metallikonen sowie Uhren.
Der Schwerpunkt der großzügig dimensionierten, rund 1900 m2 umfassenden Dauerausstellung liegt im neuen Mittelrhein-Museum auf der Gemäldesammlung sowie den skulpturalen und kunstgewerblichen Beständen. In chronologischer Abfolge spannt sich der Bogen der Epochensäle von der mittelalterlichen Skulptur über die Malerei des Mittelalters, des Barock, des Klassizismus und der Romantik über die Vertreter der Düsseldorfer Schule bis hin zur Klassischen Moderne und Positionen zeitgenössischer Kunst, wobei insbesondere die Werkkomplexe von K. O. Götz, Rissa und Heijo Hangen hervorzuheben sind. Parallel zu diesen Kunstsälen haben die Besucher die Gelegenheit, sich auf dem inneren Parcours über regionale kunst- und kulturhistorische Aspekte zu informieren. 400 Gemälde, 50 Skulpturen, 60 Graphiken und diverse kunstgewerbliche Objekte warten auf die Besucher.