The legacy of the fathers. Two centuries with the artist family Zick

 

June 9th – September 30th

Opening: June 8th2018, 7 pm

 

The family Zick isn’t only known for their variety of topics and techniques, but also for their special bond to Koblenz. That’s the reason for the dedication of a special exhibition to the family, which will take place in the Mittelrhein-Museum and will simultaneously include featured themes like Trierer court art and art of the Rhineland from the 19th century.

Januarius Zick is the most popular artist  of a family whose members  dedicated their lives to art over five generations. Starting with Johann Zick (1702-1762), who created valuable frescoes in Würzburg and Bruchsal and educated his son Januarius Zick (1730-1797), who grew up to be one of the most important German artists of the 18th century. His talent and craftsmanship got passed to Januarius’ child Conrad (1773-1836), whose work marked the transition to the 19th century. His son Gustav Zick (1809-1886) went to the Düsseldorfer Academy with Wilhelm von Schadow and was already involved in their tradition of art. He became famous for his paintings of animals, but he also created landscapes. He additionally became a representative of the family tradition by restoring his grandfather’s frescoes and copying paintings. Gustav’s son Alexander (1845-1907) on the other hand proceeded to join a whole new field. Though he was instructed in historical painting at the Düsseldorfer Academy, he distinguished himself as an illustrator in Berlin.

The exhibition addresses the underlying historical structures as well as the breaches and continuities that occurred in two centuries of an active family of artists while taking the social and art-historical aspects into account. The Mittelrhein-Museum possesses creations from all of the five artists of the family and furthermore owns a part of the Zicksche-family estate, which contains documents solely about Conrad, Gustav and Alexander.

The objective of the exhibition is to spread the wide spectrum of the artistic works from family Zick across all art forms and techniques. The paintings and graphics can be shown without problems, whereas the frescoes are a lot harder to exhibit. In the 18th century Johann and Januarius created large-sized ceiling frescoes in the castles of Würzburg and Bruchsal as well as in southern German churches.

The magnificent Dianasaloon by Januarius Zick still exists to this very day in the castle of Engers near Neuwied. There were two big frescoes in the castle of Koblenz aswell, but they were destroyed in World War 2.

But to allow the exhibition visitors the full experience of the Zick-frescoes in Engers and Koblenz, the frescoes were digitally reconstructed in a so called ‘virtual reality’. The Mittelrhein-Museum cooperated with the institute of computational visualistics and the institute of science of art; operating range digital media of the University of Koblenz-Landau. Despite the destruction, visitors are now able to experience the ceiling frescoes up close with the aid of Virtual Reality headsets.

We thank all institutes that supported this project.

The Virtual Reality reconstruction was financed by the Dr. Hans Riegel-Stiftung.

The exhibition catalogue was supported by the Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung.

We also thank the Koblenzer Kulturstiftung, the Stiftung Zukunft of Sparkasse Koblenz, the association of friends of the Mittelrhein-Museum and the Ludwig-Museum from Koblenz for the support of our project.

Das Erbe der Väter. Mit der Malerfamilie Zick durch zwei Jahrhunderte

 9. Juni – 30. September

Eröffnung: 8. Juni 2018, 19 Uhr

 

 

Die Malerfamilie Zick zeichnet sich nicht nur die Vielfalt ihrer Themen und Techniken aus, sondern auch durch die Verbundenheit zu Koblenz. Deshalb wird das Mittelrhein-Museum ihr diesen Sommer eine große Sonderausstellung widmen und knüpft damit gleichzeitig an zwei Sammlungsschwerpunkte an, nämlich die kurtrierer Hofkunst und die Malerei des 19. Jahrhunderts in den Rheinlanden.

 

Sicherlich ist Januarius Zick der bekannteste Künstler aus einer Familie, deren Angehörige sich über fünf Generationen der Malerei gewidmet hatten. Beginnend mit Johann Zick (1702-1762), der etwa in Würzburg und Bruchsal bedeutende Fresken schuf und seinen Sohn ausbildete: Den universalen Januarius Zick (1730-1797), der über alle Gattungen und Techniken hinweg zu den bedeutendsten deutschen Künstlern des 18. Jahrhunderts gehört. Sein Talent und seine handwerklichen Kenntnisse gab er an seinen Sohn Conrad (1773-1836) weiter, dessen Schaffen den Übergang zum 19. Jahrhundert markiert. Sein Sohn Gustav  Zick (1809-1886) studierte an der Düsseldorfer Akademie bei Wilhelm von Schadow und stand schon ganz in deren Maltradition. Er wurde für seine Tierbilder bekannt, schuf jedoch auch Landschaften. Darüber hinaus knüpfte er auch an die Familientradition an, indem er Fresken seines Großvaters restaurierte und Bilder kopierte. Wiederum in ein ganz neues Feld begab sich Gustavs Sohn Alexander (1845-1907), der zwar an der Düsseldorfer Akademie als Historienmaler ausgebildet war, aber später in Berlin hauptsächlich als Buchillustrator hervortrat.

 

Die Ausstellung beleuchtet unter sozial- und kunstgeschichtlichen Aspekten die zugrundeliegenden historischen Strukturen ebenso wie die Brüche und Kontinuitäten, die sich innerhalb einer fast zweihundert Jahre aktiven Künstlerfamilie auftun. Von allen fünf Malern der Familie Zick befinden sich Werke im Besitz des Mittelrhein-Museums. Zudem konnte vor einiger Zeit ein Teil des Zickschen Familiennachlasses erworben werden, welcher aber ausschließlich zu Conrad, Gustav und Alexander Dokumente enthält.

 

 

Ein Anliegen der Ausstellung ist es, das enorm breite Spektrum des künstlerischen Schaffens der Familie Zick durch alle Gattungen und Techniken auszubreiten. Während die Gemälde und Grafiken der Familie Zick problemlos ausgestellt werden können, ist dieses bei der Freskomalerei schwierig. Johann und Januarius schufen im 18. Jahrhundert großformatige Deckenfresken in den Schlössern von Würzburg und Bruchsal sowie einigen süddeutschen Kirchen. Diese Raum- und Bilderlebnisse können dem Ausstellungsbesucher abseits der erhaltenen Denkmäler nur virtuell nahegebracht werden.

 

Um den Ausstellungsbesuchern, insbesondere auch Angehörigen jüngerer Generationen, die räumliche Erfahrung der Zick-Fresken zu ermöglichen, wurden diese in Form einer „virtuellen Realität“ digital rekonstruieren. Das Mittelrhein-Museum kooperierte dazu mit Lehrstuhl für Computervisualistik der Universität Koblenz-Landau. Die Besucher können die Deckenfresken in der Ausstellung mit Hilfe von Virtual-Reality-Brillen nun trotz der Zerstörung hautnah erleben.